SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lindaskyview

Can You Scare a Hawk Away?

lindaskyview
18 years ago

A friend of mine who lives surrounded by vast pastures and wooded areas is concerned about her small dogs. She has six Papillons, which weigh between 4 and 7 lbs. each. Recently she has seen a large hawk, possibly a juvenile redtail, frequently perch on her chainlink fence. That in itself doesn't bother her, as it is pretty far from the Papillon yard. But this morning the hawk swooped right over her dog yard. Luckily, none of the Paps were outside at the time.

She asked me if a cutout or statue of a large owl mounted on the fence near the dog yard might scare the hawk away from that area. Since I have no experience with raptors, but am on several GardenWeb/Nature.net forums, I thought I'd ask for any suggestions from you folks who are much more familiar with hawk behavior. (I have an idea there's not much one can really do, but would like to know. Recently I've considered having a few chickens - which I'd love to have free-range during the day - but my property is also very open and has a lot of hawk activity.)

Thanks. (I see a lot of familiar names here from bluebirds and hummingbirds!)

LindaSkyview

Mountains of Western NC

Comments (178)

• room_650
    6 years ago

Yes, if the prey is too heavy, or fighting, the hawk will just hold it down on the ground with its talons as long as necessary, then feed on place when the struggle is over.

• 2gocubsgoohyeah
    6 years ago

Threre was one in the tree a few minutes ago. I heard squeelin! I think it attacted a rabbit and then the new baby bird's. I went back there and it took off. I Don't understand why it attacts little birds

• Related Discussions

Uncke Lans powder really scares away the animals

Q

Comments (4)