Return to the Raptors Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Can You Scare a Hawk Away?

Posted by LindaSkyview (My Page) on
Thu, Sep 15, 05 at 16:33

A friend of mine who lives surrounded by vast pastures and wooded areas is concerned about her small dogs. She has six Papillons, which weigh between 4 and 7 lbs. each. Recently she has seen a large hawk, possibly a juvenile redtail, frequently perch on her chainlink fence. That in itself doesn't bother her, as it is pretty far from the Papillon yard. But this morning the hawk swooped right over her dog yard. Luckily, none of the Paps were outside at the time.

She asked me if a cutout or statue of a large owl mounted on the fence near the dog yard might scare the hawk away from that area. Since I have no experience with raptors, but am on several GardenWeb/Nature.net forums, I thought I'd ask for any suggestions from you folks who are much more familiar with hawk behavior. (I have an idea there's not much one can really do, but would like to know. Recently I've considered having a few chickens - which I'd love to have free-range during the day - but my property is also very open and has a lot of hawk activity.)

Thanks. (I see a lot of familiar names here from bluebirds and hummingbirds!)

LindaSkyview
Mountains of Western NC

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Can You Scare a Hawk Away?

The hawk is not going to touch or even think of touching your friends papillons. Even the small 4lb dogs weigh twice as much as a 2.5 lb red tail. Tell your friend to enjoy the presence of this spectacular bird. Red tails prefer to eat small rodents. A small dog is a bit of a tall order for a red tailed hawk. And no an owl mount wouldnt scare away the hawk.

Nathan

o

Nathan ~ Thanks for the information. I hope a few more people will contribute, too.

I should have stated in the first post that my friend is not sure about the identity of the hawk, just that it is larger than any she has seen before.