SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
txgrdngal

Hunting habits of hawks

backyardmama
16 years ago

Hello, I'm new to backyard birding and when all the birds who had been eating from my feeders suddenly left for a few days (squirrels, too) it was suggested that they knew a hawk was nearby. We live in a fairly wooded neighborhood where houses sit on 1/3 acre lots and a lake is within 1/4 - 1/2 mile, surrounded by heavily wooded area where numerous birds live.

The only time we have seen a hawk (that appears to be young) is after dark while walking the dog. I thought I might have seen a bird larger than those that visit my feeders fly off with something in its talons one afternoon awhile back.

Do hawks hunt in the daytime or at night? Do they perch and wait for prey or soar above and area first? Is it true that if I place my feeders under a tall tree with a large canopy that hawks will have more trouble spotting it?

Thanks for any information you can give me.

Comments (69)

• sharoncarlson1
    7 years ago

To birdlover5897, you can now get stainless steel screens that cannot be cut or torn open. We've added them to our sunroom to keep our cats in and predators out. They are not inexpensive but worth it!

• darla_scott10
    7 years ago

I'm not sure what kind of hawk has been making our local birds his private banquet, but I found him sitting right on top of the bird feeder today! I know they have to eat too, but I just wish they'd do it somewhere else. It breaks my heart to see the little Sparrows disappear one by one. And it infuriates me that some of them are killed but not eaten! I wish they'd feed off from the Grackles and Starlings instead!

• Related Discussions

Advice on stopping hawk from killing chickens

Q

Comments (30)