Return to the Bird Watching Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Finches changing colors already?

Posted by jojoco (My Page) on
Thu, Jan 2, 14 at 10:28

The finches at my feeders have been olive colored since November. Now I'm seeing the bright gold creeping back. I'm new to birding and thought color changes didn't happen til spring. I'm in upstate ny near syracuse.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Finches changing colors already?

I've heard it can be affected by what they eat.

o

I've noticed very subtle yellowing also. In March, as the temperature heats up, the males seem to turn yellow almost in a week or two. My concern today is that Goldfinches outnumber all my Cardinals, Chickadees and Titmice put together and often monopolize all eight perches at the two black oil sunflower feeders which they empty rapidly. At what point are they considered a pest?

o

Well, if you're going to put food out that so many birds eat, I would expect anything to happen. I wouldn't consider any of them that show up as "pests"........just birds looking for food.

Maybe you should try putting different types of feeders up.....like a thistle feeder (which the goldfinches seem to prefer), and a suet feeder (which chickadees and Titmice, wrens, nuthatches, woodpeckers like). Its hard to believe that goldfinches would keep those others away. I didn't even know goldfinches liked BOSS that much.
And maybe its the type of feeder you are using with your sunflower seed. I've found that cardinals don't like those little perches........so maybe its the build of your feeders that are attracting certain birds more than others?

o

It's true the Cardinals have trouble staying on my perches and spend much time on the ground eating spillage. Goldfinches do indeed relish BOSS which I provide because it's cheap in large bags and popular. I have two suet feeders and get my share of woodpeckers, C. wrens, nuthatches and others. Just put off by the flocks of Goldfinches. Call me an anti- Goldfinchite if you like.

o