Feeder ID - Leucistic Goldfinch?

michey1st_gw Zone 7December 10, 2013

Hey there! I'm a newbie bird nerd in Maryland, and a first time poster here on the bird-watching forum *waves*

This afternoon, I spied an unusual goldfinch at my thistle feeder. He/she is struggling with getting the hang of the upside-down feeder (unfortunately, a necessity due to an overabundance of HOSP) and is shown here sharing a perch with one of the regulars. Is this a leucistic goldfinch? Apologies for the crappy photo - my cell camera leaves a bit to be desired >.Your help is appreciated!

Kindest regards,
Michele

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
surya55_gw

Welcome Michele! Not sure but it looks like it's in the midst of changing from its summer feathers to the drab, olive one for winter...

Bookmark   December 10, 2013 at 11:58PM
calliope

I think it may be a leucistic junco. I've seen photos of four or five of them looks just like the one in your post. Here's a link to a birdwatch site. Scroll down a bit and there is an whole series of pics of one.

Here is a link that might be useful: leusistic junco

Bookmark   December 11, 2013 at 4:05PM
michey1st_gw Zone 7

Thank you for the warm welcome and information, Surya and Calliope!

I'm not sure it's a junco, as behaviorally and size-wise, it was really behaving like a goldfinch. My Juncos don't really care for any of my feeders, and this little guy went straight to the thistle. BUT, the more I research, the more i'm leaning towards some form of leucistic variety (leucisism?).

He did seem to get picked on by others, although to be fair, a few of them are ornery and territorial little buggers that fight with anything that comes close.

I wish I had another snow day today so I could see if he returned, but alas, it all melted and I had to go to work =(

Thank you both for chiming in!
Michele

Bookmark   December 11, 2013 at 8:47PM
tmff